Warm Wishes: Knitting for those Impacted by Sandy

Like many people, I have dear friends that were impacted when Sandy came tearing through the East Coast. In talking with one of them, I mentioned wishing there was something hands on I could do. With the cold weather approaching, power outages, and loss of homes and possessions, and she cleverly suggested knitting hats.

This I could do!

I roped another friend into joining me, and we spent the past week knitting up a storm. We put together a little care package with 6 hats, 3 scarves/cowls, 2 fingerless mitts and a couple of head wraps. We used the handmade tags found here, and included a little note. The package is in the mail, en route to my friend in New Jersey who will bring the knitted goodies to those in need.

I hope this is just the beginning. I will be making and sending more hand knit goods. Uniquities Yarn Shop, a yarn shop in my Mom’s neck of the woods got wind of our little project when my mom went in to pick up some supplies to help further our cause and they expressed interest in getting involved, and my often mentioned friend Katie her community was heavily hit as well) just put a call out to her circle of knitters to make and send knitted goodies her way for distribution.

To my friend MJ who got this whole things going…thank you for a great idea, for giving me a way to help out and let the folks in your community know we are thinking of them, and for distributing our hand-made goodies to those in need!

Grab your needles or your hooks, rummage through your stash or visit your local yarn shop, whip up a special hand-made warm accessory…and send a warm wooly hug to someone impacted by the storm.

*if you want to knit, I can get you connected to folks for distribution – just leave a comment!

9 thoughts on “Warm Wishes: Knitting for those Impacted by Sandy

  1. Such a wonderful thought and what a great gift to get. Hope some supplies will arrive shortly.

    β€œIt’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.”
    ― Mother Teresa

      • That is just terrific, it is all about sharing the energy. The yarns are pretty simple as I was in a bit of a hurry, but I do like the colors.

    • That is so great! Looks like there are several groups out there on ravelry doing similar stuff too – hopefully all that need a handmade goodie will get one!

  2. P.S. Nice colours on the hats! I’m also just doing basic and simple stitches, to get more done in less time. It’s starting to get cold here … temps dropped 20 degrees from yesterday!

Leave a Reply

